About Terra Bella Natural and Organic food distribution

My Family

We are a small family run company which is owned by George Nikoloulias, the youngest of four children. Our parents, Dimitrios and Stavroula, were farmers by profession who grew produce using organic methods. They grew olives, wheat, grapes, walnuts, chestnuts, figs, pomegranates, quinces, oranges and a variety of vegetables in the hilly farm town of Loganikos not far from the city of Sparta (Greece). In 1966, we immigrated to Canada for a better way of life. I started working part time in high school at a corner grocery store in 1979, I was 15 years old. Just about that time, corporate farming was in full speed, imagine farmers growing broccoli season after season as far as the eye can see in the Salinas valley of California. They would never rotate crops, add chemicals in the soil and use various pesticides to meet consumer demand.

Terra Bella our roots

In 1998, I was still working in the conventional produce industry, when a friend of mine began to constantly feel sick, so she decided to see a naturopath in NDG by the name of Jorgen Van Zsidy N.D. After her visit with the naturopath, it was suggested that she should make some dietary changes and include as much organic products in the diet as possible. I then accompanied her to the natural food store and saw the organic produce looking so tired as though they walked all the way from California. I tried organic produce anyway, and to my surprise the food tasted the way nature intended them to be.

In 1998, there was only one organic produce distributor and I was not impressed with his work. I sought another wholesaler in Toronto who was doing a better job and I slowly got into the fresh organic food industry. Presently, there are three organic distributors in Montreal. I mostly do business with Gaetan Bono and his director of the organic program, Armando Silva who is doing a great job.

Terra bella about us

Today in 2011, I do have a better way of life, I have a wonderful wife and daughter and own a business that I am passionate about, and once every few years we visit my family's country home in Greece and pick and eat fresh figs right from our trees.

-George Nikoloulias

A Propos

My Family

Nous sommes une petite entreprise familiale appartenant à George Nikoloulias, le gamin de 4 enfants. Ces parents, Dimitrios et Stavroula, était des fermiers qui cultivaient leurs produits utilisant les méthodes biologiques. Ils cultivaient les olives, du blé, les raisins, les noix de Grenoble, les marrons, les figues, les grenades, les coings, les oranges et une variété de légumes dans la village fermier de Loganikos pas loin de Sparte en Grèce. En 1966, la famille a immigré au Canada pour vivre une meilleure vie. En 1979, à l'âge de 15 ans, George avait commencer de travaillé a l'épicerie du coin. à environs ce temps là, les sociétés agricoles ont commencé leur démarches à grand pas, imaginez les agriculteurs qui sèment le brocoli saison après saison, au Vallée de Salinas en Californie. Ils ne faisaient jamais la rotation des cultures, ils ajoutaient des produits chimiques dans le sol et utilisaient des pesticides différents pour répondre à la demande des consommateurs.

Terra Bella our roots

En 1998, George travaillait toujours pour les commerces d'aliments conventionnels quand une amie a commencé à se sentir malade, elle a donc décidé de voir un naturopathe dans NDG sous le nom de Jorgen Van Zsidy N.D. Après sa visite, il était suggerer de changer ses habitudes alimentaires et d'incorporer plus d'aliments biologiques que possible. George l'a donc accompagné à un épicerie de produits biologique, et a aperçu que les produits était dans un piteux état. Il les a essayé de toute façon et a trouvé à sa grande surprise que les aliments ont goûté la manière dont la nature a voulu qu'ils soient. En ce temps-ci, il y avait seulement un distributeur de produit biologiques à Montréal, et il n'était pas impressionné avec son travaille. Il a donc cherché un autre grossiste à Toronto et a lentement commencé dans le secteur des aliments biologiques.

Présentement, il y a trois distributeurs biologiques à Montréal. Généralement, notre distribution fait nos affaires avec Gaétan Bono et son directeur du Programme Biologique, Armando Silva, qui fait un très bon travail.

Terra bella about us

"Aujourd'hui en 2011, j'ai un meilleur qualité de vie. J'ai une belle vie avec ma femme et fille, et je suis passionné dans que ce je fais. Chaque quelques années ma famille et moi visitent notre maison familiale en Grèce et on récoltent les figues fraîches dans notre jardin."

-George Nikoloulias